2016: Boarding complete

The year sounded promising, and as we all buckled into a smooth transition with stellar academics, promotions, proposals and marriages, reality trumped in our faces (pun unintended) as always. In the wake of a whole trail of celebrity deaths this year, Dylan won the Nobel prize for literature. I’m currently feeling Zen, so this doesn’t affect me anymore.  

Amidst animal extinction, several animals moved to the endangered zone, leaving some hope for lives after all. Planet Earth II sounds too promising, and with Mr. Attenborough’s voice, that’s something I’m definitely buying off my Amazon prime account. 

This year has been on the whole very educational. People I know and I’ve collectively experienced heartbreaks, unkept promises, society’s interference in one’s personal decision, living proof of the caste system with its disgusting medusa-like implications, and a disgruntled economy with a million changes in its policies. But all isn’t bad. The Olympics were great, Jon Snow is alive (spoiler alert), I’m living my dreams, and got to meet some of my favourite contemporary authors. 

Finally, being there for one another, sharing part of a stranded community at the airports affected by severe fog, waiting to get to wherever we need to has been the fulcrum holding this year together. So long, 2016. Live long in our memory and prosper! 

25 thoughts on “2016: Boarding complete

  1. Quite a nice way to write a year-end post. Also, thanks for sneaking back here. You’d vanished again.
    And that spoiler! You shouldn’t do that, Potato. Think of the poor veggies who haven’t yet got to season 6.

    I loved the style of the post, philosophical and yet personal. Happy wala new year!

  2. Amen to that! Great end of year post, like all your other posts!
    And a very happy new year to you! I wish you a 2017 that’s way better than 2016! And with lots of writing so I can enjoy reading them. 🙂

    1. Aww thank you so much, Anne! Happy happy new year to you and your family 🙂 I’ll try to write here more often, and as always thank you for encouraging me. Hope you have a great year, I’ll see you around here:)

Leave a Reply

